Skip to content
January 29, 2013 / William Greenfield

More Startrials

Well I am at work and rather bored so I thought I would try writing a blob post on my iPhone so if it looks a bit strange please bear with Me.

I have kept working on photographing star trails I believe I am making some progress. I found an app in the App Store ( who would have thought that), called startrails, that has speeded things up a bit but it does not give you the control that photoshop does.

The photograph below with the tree in it is a point in photoshops favour as I had trouble in the frames were a car drove through the frame and caused the tree to become overexposed. Using Photoshop I was able to create a layer mask to keep only the sky and the cars tail lights. So far this is my favourite Startrial photograph.

Well I will keep trying, I want the exposures to be longer. To do this I need to find a power source for my camera, there are a couple of options but I have not finished researching them yet.

Thanks for taking the time to look at this post, William.

Star trial photograph taken near Bendigo, Victoira. With Tree and car lights in foreground

An Attempt to photograph star trials after band one night. was not sure that it would work because the clouds were moving in, but I think there movement helps add another dimension to the photograph.

20130129-124359.jpg

20130129-124418.jpg

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. OwlMcCloud / Jan 29 2013 10:38

    Great Shots!

Leave a Reply

